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Creative ways to scale SMB customer acquisition


The bigger you get, the higher your customer acquisition costs go. Many startups begin life selling to small business (SMB).

Corporate Acquisitions of Startups: Why Do They Fail?

Steve Blank

More often than not the results of these acquisitions are disappointing. Is the Potential Acquisition Searching or Executing? So what?

Why Misunderstanding Startup Metrics Can Cost You Your Business

Both Sides of the Table

CAC is often measured incorrectly and doesn’t often doesn’t capture the true costs of acquisition. Customer acquisition cost.

Startup Killer: the Cost of Customer Acquisition | For Entrepreneurs

Gross Margin should take into consideration any support, installation, and servicing costs. have multiples that are more like 5 x CAC.) Thanks!

Three types of acquisitions

Chris Dixon

There are three types of technology acquisitions: - Talent. As a rule of thumb, these acquisitions are priced at approximately $1M/engineer. Generally the prices for these acquisitions are significantly higher than talent acquisitions. Tech: When the acquirer wants the technology along with the team. Siri). startups

An Acquisition Without the Acrimony?

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

Lots of acquisitions lead to redundancies, lay-offs, and ultimately unhappy marriages. Most acquisitions are designed to fuel growth.

Refining your Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) Ratio

Cracking the Code

To take into account this ramp-up effect, you can adjust your S&M costs in the formula accordingly and multiply them by 7/10 = 0.7 or 70%.

Building It Is Not Enough: 5 Practical Tips On User Acquisition


Finding scalable acquisition channels is a time consuming and strategic effort. Every, and I mean every, acquisition channel costs money.

This Unusual Startup Strategy Led to a $200 Million Microsoft Acquisition

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

Listening to typical startup advice would have cost these entrepreneurs millions

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The economic logic behind tech and talent acquisitions

Chris Dixon

You therefore need to estimate the cost of delay (delaying the 10% increase in revenue) and failure. If you want to sell your company – or simply understand acquisitions you read about in the press – it is important to understand how they think about these calculations. Here is a really simplified example. startups

Can Paid Customer Acquisition Work With Freemium?

Software By Rob

I received the following question from a reader: I was wondering if you had any thoughts on cost of customer acquisition for freemium businesses.

The Hidden Costs of Customer Attrition

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

It may surprise you just how much each lost customer is costing your business.

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7 Ways to Cut Your Turnover Costs and Boost Morale

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

Don''t focus on cost, but on employee value. You''re probably wasting your time and energy on recruitment. And nobody wants that. Hire higher.

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Starting a Web Business with Less than Your Monthly Rent (The $ by $ Guide)

Up and Running

These marketing automation platforms cost around $40 a month. See Also The Bplans Starting Costs Calculator. Your budget. That’s it.

The Remarkable Cost Of Poor Customer Support On Your Bottom Line


The Remarkable Cost Of Poor Customer Support On Your Bottom Line. Poor customer support costs US businesses $84 billion a year!

The Inside Story of a Small Startup Acquisition (Part 3)

Software By Rob

This is final installment of a 3-part series covering my acquisition of HitTail. I would love more information about the acquisition process.

Kindred Disciplines: Growth Equity and Growth Hacking

Non-Linear Growth

Growth hacking definitions abound , but generally emphasize a data driven, creative and flexibly opportunistic approach to customer acquisition.

6 Rules for Strategic Acquisitions

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

Mike Volpi led 75 acquisitions during his 7-year stint as chief strategy officer of Cisco. He also warns against cost-cutting. billion.

Paid Customer Acquisition for SaaS, Simple Diagrams, the True Cost of Commuting, and more…

Software By Rob

When Does Paid Acquisition Work for SaaS Startups? The True Cost of Commuting – “You Could Buy a House Priced $15,900 More for Each Mile You Move Closer to Work.” – The right question to ask, with a solid analysis. Love the UI. ” Ouch. Read Entrepreneur Magazine for Free – On your iOS device.

Steve Blank: Why Corporate Acquisitions of Startups Fail

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

More often than not the results of these acquisitions are disappointing. Is the Potential Acquisition Searching or Executing?

Lean Marketing: Basic Metrics You Should be Watching. Now.

crowdSPRING Blog

Customer Acquisition Cost. The important thing is to understand how much it costs you to acquire a single customer. And fourth?

Rising App Marketing Costs Create Challenge for Start-Ups

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

The Boston-based mobile app marketing company found that the cost for acquiring new loyal app users through advertising has reached $1.80

No. 1 Reason Acquisitions Fail

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

An acquisition can provide a successful avenue for growth and obtaining competitive advantage. Why do acquisitions fail?

Marketing Beyond Acquisition


In my conversations with people in the startup world – from angel investors through entrepreneurs and employees with vast startup experience – I often hear about their perceptions of the marketing role as being pretty limited to acquisition. Second – timely, cost-effective customer acquisition is a matter of life-or-death to most startups.


Sales for Startups: Lead Acquisition, Source & Execution

Mark Birch

There are three components to consider when discussing leads: Lead Acquisition - This is HOW you came to obtain leads, or in other words the process.

Factors To Consider When Creating An Acquisition Strategy As A Tech Startup


For most of those that manage to grow big, acquisition of other companies plays a major role in their success. by Cameron Johnson. billion.

9 Fresh Startup Customer Acquisition Ideas

Early Growth Financial Services

We asked successful founders from the Young Entrepreneur Council to name some unusual—or at least lesser-known—customer acquisition strategies they’ve used recently to strong results. Originally published in Inc. Acquiring new customers is a permanent fixture of your sales process. Here are some of their best answers.

Part II: Making the Most of Your Metrics

Guy Nirpaz

Understanding data to increase conversion rates and key business processes. . Sales. Marketing. The ratio between effective (i.e. Product. Summary.

Acquisition or Partnership? How to Decide

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

Is an acquisition or partnership a possibility in your future? What could be a better acquisition candidate? Instagram and Facebook.

Conversion: The Most Important Internet Metric of All (Revisited)

Internet analytics can be roughly broken down into two simple activities – customer acquisition and customer optimization. Optimizely. Sailthru.

SaaS CEOs: Measure Customer Engagement – Increase Conversions & Lower Churn

For Entrepreneurs

The goal of a SaaS CEO should be to increase the profit they make from each customer (LTV), and lower the costs in sales and marketing that it takes to acquire each customer (CAC). Measuring Customer Engagement is a key tool that will help you achieve that goal, as it will allow you to increase [.].

How to plan to make a successful acquisition


This CEO states that he has made it work twice when acquiring companies, and that is enough for him to make it his rule for all future acquisitions.

Holvi to open in 19 European countries, staff acquisitions in three


As of yesterday, Austria will be joined by 18 other countries. Or all of those?

Optimizing the Free Trial Signup – How Flow Got a 17% Lift [Case Study]


Blog CRO customer acquisition Flow free trial onboarding SaaS signup funnelFree trials are to SaaS applications as keys are to locks.

The truth about onboarding costs

Version One Ventures

If you do a good job on scaling your onboarding, all these benefits will more than make up for the additional costs. You should always be aware of your metrics: What are the added onboarding costs? Add them to your initial customer acquisition costs to get a total CAC amount. Provide an opportunity for upselling.

@altgate » Blog Archive » Switching Costs


Last month, I said F-it and decided to switch to WordPress no matter what the cost. Switching costs. It’s alter ego. TypePad.

When a Strategic Acquisition Makes Sense

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

This leads us to consider an acquisition of a small firm. So we’ve found ourselves faced with the same due diligence we would advise our clients and portfolio companies to pursue when considering an acquisition. Were considering buying a small firm to build on our organic growth strategy. If they succeed, then we succeed.

6 Tips To Help Entrepreneurs Win And Grow A Strong Customer Base


Advice For The Young At Heart customer acquisition John Vrionis Lightspeed Venture Partners Pushpins startup adviceWhy so challenging?

Yahoo's Former Finance VP on the Nitty Gritty of Smart Acquisitions

Fresh Inc.: The Staff Blog

When Yahoo''s not in the news for firing its COO , it''s in the news for making one acquisition or another. Two things. Any final thoughts?

Organic Growth Startups Won’t Scale Competitively

Startup Professionals Musings

Non-organic growth would include OEM relationships, finding strategic partners, “coopetition,” as well as acquisitions. Fresh customer base.