What You Need To Know About The Churn Rate And How To Fight It


There are 3 major metrics that will determine the overall success of a SaaS vendor: Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC). Churn Rate. But many first time SaaS merchants overlook churn or don’t even know what churn is. What is churn rate?

SaaS CEOs: Measure Customer Engagement – Increase Conversions & Lower Churn

For Entrepreneurs

The goal of a SaaS CEO should be to increase the profit they make from each customer (LTV), and lower the costs in sales and marketing that it takes to acquire each customer (CAC). Building for Success SaaS Sales & Marketing Machine Startup Help churn churn rate Cost of Customer Acquisition customer engagement SaaS business SaaS churn SaaS churn rate SaaS customer engagement saas marketing SaaS sales SaaS VC

The only 2 ways to build a $100 million business

Version One Ventures

Route One: High LTV per user The exact definition of a “high” user LTV depends on the specific vertical, so it’s typically better to analyze the ratio between Customer Acquisition Costs (CAC) and the Life Time Value of the customer. The biggest driver for high LTV is repeat purchase behavior (in an e-commerce business) respectively a low churn rate (in a SaaS company). In addition, churn tends to rise as a company grows.

Why Misunderstanding Startup Metrics Can Cost You Your Business

Both Sides of the Table

The key to being able to run a business that isn’t yet profitable (on operating margin) is availability of capital to finance losses and preferably at a cost that isn’t too punitive to the founders and employees. Customer acquisition cost.

2017 SaaS Survey Infographic

For Entrepreneurs

You can find the full 2017 survey results here: Part 1 shares growth rates, go-to-market trends and cost structure Part 2 covers application delivery methods, operational costs, gross margins, contract terms, churn rates, capital requirements and accounting methods. The third annual forEntrepreneurs SaaS Survey Infographic shares top highlights from this year’s SaaS Survey results!

2013 Pacific Crest SaaS Survey

For Entrepreneurs

We worked together with Pacific Crest, an investment banking firm with a specific focus on SaaS, to survey 155 SaaS companies on a variety of topics such as growth rates, CAC (cost to acquire a customer), gross margins, churn rates, etc. Business Model SaaS CAC churn

2015 Pacific Crest SaaS Survey – Part 2

For Entrepreneurs

This week I’m sharing the results from Part 2 of the survey where we compare application delivery methods, operational costs and gross margins, contract terms, churn rates, capital requirements and accounting methods. Last week I posted the results from Part 1 of our survey in which 300+ SaaS companies shared data on their growth and go-to-market strategies.

2014 Pacific Crest Saas Survey- Part 2

For Entrepreneurs

This week we dive into the results from Part 2 of the survey where we compare application delivery methods, operational costs and gross margins, contract terms, churn rates, capital requirements and accounting […]. Last week I shared the results from Part 1 of our survey in which 300+ SaaS companies shared data on their growth and go-to-market strategies.

Don’t Be Gunshy Because You Dealt With Bucketheads The Last Time Around

Feld Thoughts

One of these was around churn – he asserted that one of the clear weaknesses of the business was the high churn rate. He didn’t have a high churn rate at all – in fact, his churn rate after a customer was paying for three months was minimal. Instead of articulating a powerful story about low customer acquisition costs with minimal downstream churn, he lead with “the worst problem with the business is our high churn rate.”

How to Get Initial Traction with a Marketing Budget of Zero

Up and Running

Providing proper expectations will minimize the churn rate. Managing a Business branding low cost marketing marketing seo social mediaLet’s say you have zero traction, an unknown product, and no budget to speak of.

The 5 Metrics You Need to Track for Your Subscription Business to Succeed

Up and Running

Churn and Churn Rate. Churn is the number of customers that cancel your service in a given month – when they leave, they’ve “churned out” and are no longer subscribing to your service. Churn rate is the percentage of customers that leave every month.

Visualizing the Interactions Between CAC, Churn and LTV

A Smart Bear: Startups and Marketing for Geeks

If you like this, go see his Shockwave Innovations blog ) Anyone that has taken an accounting class or learned basic business financials knows the interaction between key elements of a P&L (revenue, cost, expense) and a balance sheet (assets, liabilities, equity).

Your LTV Math is Wrong

Seeing Both Sides

Since I see a few common patterns of mistakes, I thought I'd add to the LTV literature and point out the top three reasons many investors roll their eyes when they see entrepreneurs present inflated, poorly constructed LTVs: 1) Your churn rate is understated. A monthly churn rate of 1%?

When Customers Make You Smarter

Steve Blank

Cost-based Pricing versus Value-based Pricing. And they discovered that: device makers were spending $500-$800 in Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) to acquire a customer. The Tidepool team went from cost-based pricing to value-based pricing.

Analysing cohorts made easy

The Equity Kicker

For marketplaces and ecommerce companies that means revenues (net of VAT) less any discounts or rebates, the cost of the physical item, delivery costs and the cost of returns. You can work out how long it will take to pay back varying customer acquisition costs (CAC).

Treat Customers Based on Their Values

Guy Nirpaz

He suggests measuring two basic metrics: CLTV (Customer Life Time Value) and CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost). This principle would increase conversion rates from prospects and maximize penetration rates withing current customers.

Recognising good growth

The Equity Kicker

High churn rates. High return rates. revenues per user > cost of acquisition + cost of delivery). High referral rates. When I wrote last night about Growing the right way I said that startups should aim to grow sustainably.

5 Key Growth Metrics Every Enterprise Startup Should Track


The payback period is the amount of time it takes to recoup your acquisition cost. If your payback period is any longer than this, you need to assess the ratios below to determine where to raise prices and cut costs. Lifetime Value/Cost of Acquisition. Churn.

This Is Why You Should Start A Subscription Box Business


More importantly, a subscription business model enables you to manage the cash flow, upgrade your business planning and optimize metrics such as churn rates, the lifetime value of a customer, expansion, and more. by Stefan Pretty, founder of Subbly.

Metrics that matter to social platforms (Part 1/3)

Version One Ventures

On the flip side of engagement, we can look at churn as a measure of the number of individuals moving out of a collective group over a specific period of time. Churned users can be segmented as follows: Total Churned Users = New Churned Users + Old Churned Users.

How To Succeed As A Product Manager


This group of metrics covers numbers such as monthly unique visitors to the website and customer acquisition cost. Knowing how much it costs to get a new client will help your company to analyse and forecast its profitability. by Beata Green, Director of HeadChannel.

9 Things That Take a Pitch From Good to Great

Up and Running

percent average conversion rate. 5 percent monthly churn rate. is our customer acquisition cost (CAC). I’ve seen hundreds of startups pitch to angel investors and venture capitalists, and most of them—at best— are just okay.

Profit and Loss Responsibility


In this world, each product manager would worry about the cost structure of their product, the marketing plan, sales forecasts, contribution and profitability. It may include profitability, but it more likely will focus on increasing growth, or reducing churn rate, or driving up engagement, or driving revenue, or any number of other possible goals.

3 Tips For Incorporating The Digital Marketing Metrics You Need


A lot of businesses historically focus on cost per impressions, clicks, or conversions, but they lack the insight to tie those conversions back to money spent. by Hagan Major , president and chief operating officer of YellowHammer.

How To Calculate & Increase Customer Lifetime Value


That it costs 5-7x more to acquire a customer than it does to retain one isn’t entirely true. In David Skok’s post, he says: “Life Time Value > Cost of Acquisition. (It Determining Your Customer Acquisition Costs. Cost of Customer Visits (CoCV).

Why you should never have a data room — the most counter-intuitive fund-raising advice you’ll ever…

Both Sides of the Table

A detailed financial model that shows your anticipated revenue, costs and profits (Income Statement) as well as your balance sheet and cashflow statements. Why you should never have a data room?—?the

Startups and financial models for SAAS companies


In my mind some of these key variables include new bookings, growth of deferred revenue, churn rate, cost of acquiring new customers, and obviously cash. Another area that is quite important is churn rate. If your company churns or loses 5% of customers every month, then during the course of the year the company will have to replace a significant number of customers just to maintain status quo.

One of the Biggest Mistakes Enterprise Startups Make

Both Sides of the Table

Professional services = higher rate of successful rollouts. The more your product is integrated with other systems the lower your churn rate will be. Professional services + systems integration = lower churn. It’s Profitable Revenue Covering Your Fixed Costs.

Shark Tank Season 4 week 10 breakdown

Lightspeed Venture Partners

They are seeing an 85% monthly renewal rate. They believed that they could get customer acquisition costs to the $10-12 range, but as Cuban points out, that was just hope, they had no evidence to back this up. That would put the cost of the ties at around 2x $85/24 = $7/mth.

Autonomy vs. Mission


If, for example, the business objective is to significantly lower the customer churn rate, then that’s the team’s mission. Reducing the churn rate can definitely be a hard problem, and there are likely any number of ways to approach fixing this. Similarly if you’re trying to increase customer lifetime value, or decrease customer acquisition cost, and so on.

Understand learning profiles before hiring

Version One Ventures

We all understand the high costs of recruiting, onboarding, and knowledge transfer associated with high employee churn rates. These are just 3 cases; no doubt you can think of several more situations where a learning misalignment happens and may be costly to your organization.

Hiring 111

Leading Indicators of Customer Churn, And What to Do About It


What you’re experiencing is customer churn. What is customer churn? Also known as “customer churn,” customer attrition is the loss of clients or customers using your service. If you’re unsure, you can learn how to calculate your churn rate here.

The Beginner’s Guide to SaaS Conversion Optimization


Reducing churn rate. The goals of these companies could be quite different depending on the desired quantity, quality, and cost of customers. However it comes with its own set of challenges, like retention and churn. So, Net MRR = New MRR + Expansion MRR – Churned MRR.

Flipping Coins For CLV Dollars


They understand intuitively that they have “good” customers — those who are willing to pay premium prices, renew their contracts every year, and require low service costs — and “bad” customers, those who tie up firm resources while giving little back in return.

A Complete Guide to Forecasting Sales for Your Monthly Subscription Business

Up and Running

Subscription services are popular because it often costs less, in the short run, to start using a service. For a fraction of the cost of buying a treadmill, I can use an entire gym. Churn is the rate at which customers are canceling and leaving your service.

8 Smart and Practical Ways To Increase Your Small Business Profits

crowdSPRING Blog

While this appears to be prudent – after all, you’re saving the cost of paying a part-time accountant – such decisions turn out to be very short-sighted for many businesses. Churn rates can offer many interesting insights into your business.

Why Metrics Get Worse With Scale

Seeing Both Sides

Conventional wisdom suggests that the most important metrics for a startup - such as unit economics, cost of acquisition, lifetime value, churn rates - typically get better with time. Take growth rate as a simple one.

9 Things That Take a Pitch From Good To Great

Up and Running

0.22% average conversion rate. 5% monthly churn rate. is our customer acquisition cost (CAC). I’ve seen hundreds of business pitches, and most of them—at best—are just okay.

Why Making Something Customers Want Isn’t Enough

Software By Rob

But we rarely think about the specifics of how we are going to reach prospects, and how much that’s going to cost. Since this will be easier to explain with an example, let’s start by looking at the cost of acquiring a customer using Google AdWords. Photo by Stinkie Pinkie.

CPA 75

Lean Analytics

Startup Lessons Learned

Start with metrics in mind To help with this, the book looks at dozens of metrics—such as churn, customer lifetime value, viral coefficient, acquisition cost, uptime, and engagement—and suggests where that metric should be before you can move on to the next stage of your business.

Explainer Videos: What Exactly Is The ROI?

Austin Startup

In order to answer this question, we are going to create a common use case and dig in to how having an explainer video on a landing page affects conversion rates, and ultimately, ROI. Our product will be a SAAS offering that has a monthly subscription rate of $10.

Video 65

#KillerSaaSPitch in 10 Words (Part 2)

Cracking the Code

It occurred to him that he should try and find one of the drivers going his way and offer to share petrol costs in exchange for use of an empty seat. Mastering your pitch to a VC, prospective customers, new hires or partners is part art and part science.

Stop Flying Blind: Use Big Data to Benchmark Your Startup


See, for example, their customer acquisition costs. Startup Compass has 17,000 companies now using the service for things like checking whether their churn rate is too high or their retention rate is too low - or if they should be spending more money on customer acquisition. “We